What do you consider quality?

I was just reading an article that discusses what the customer perceives as a quality product is what I should be perceiving as a quality product. I completely agree! So my question to you is what exactly do you think encompasses a quality product in our industry? Is it uniqueness? Realistic elements or doodles?  Or is quantity your deciding factor?  How about Price, should price factor into the quality of a product? There is of course certain quality control issues that just cannot be ignored. But other than that, what would you buy consider a quality product?  Don’t be afraid to tell me some examples either!  I would love to know what you think!

LaLi

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marci D.
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 17:03:59

    A quality kit is something you can see immediately. Everything in it is perfect like no snags, no jagged edges, and nothing is blurry. I should be able to take any of your elements or papers and magnify them to almost if not the largest degree of magnifigation on my windows viewer and never see a pattern break down, or anything blurry. I like shadowed elements. I think the kit shoould have the universal elements in them like a 12″ border, clusters of elements already done for me and allow me to arrange them myself and get great results,
    at least on clustered frame and an unclustered frame, and ribbons of some sort and kit themed elements plus universal themed elements lik a wire with beads on them. I want to be able to use just your kit for several pages and I want to be able to use some of the papers and elements that are so universal ,I coulds use them with other kits and themed projects.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 12:09:13

    Something that indicates quality to me is the cohesiveness of the pieces. I find a kit extra special if everything looks like it actually goes together or was created by one person for one purpose. Yes, variety is important, but so is consistency. For example, if there are people or animals, they should look like they came from the same “world” – all hand drawn, or all “posers.” A “family” shouldn’t consist of a Raggedy Ann doll child, a hand-drawn cartoon character mom, and a realistic three-dimensional looking dad. If it is going to be cartoony and cutesy, make everything look that way, etc… My favorite kits are the ones where it is apparent that the artist has created each of those main elements from scratch. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer input!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

